Change in season

Well it is officially Spring. It has already been almost two weeks since I bid my fond farewell for the year to my last winter fish and my favorite mossy rivers of spring. It is nice to make that last trip of the year and know I will let those runs rest until next winter. My way of taking it all in and thanking the river for another amazing season full of experience. This year was maybe tougher than others  in the past, but I cant complain. I feel incredibly lucky for ALL the time I was able to spend on the water and I found some unbelievable fish while doing it.

It was perfect that on my last day of the season I found some fish but they all managed to elude me in some way, before I could bring them to hand. Almost as though to make me that much more anxious for what next winter may bring. Sometimes it is better to not win, it puts things in perspective for me. While out on the water we are the guest, and we are at the mercy of what the host will be so kind to grant us with.

mossy banks of a cascading clean water trib

~ by theriverwrites on May 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
